Denial Facts
South Carolina

Absolute Total Care denied your claim in South Carolina. Here is your deadline.

Your two dates, free

Put in the date on your Absolute Total Care, Inc notice and get both federal deadlines as calendar dates.

Free, for an Absolute Total Care, Inc denial in South Carolina, and it runs entirely in your browser. The date, the plan type and the state you pick are never sent to us and never stored.

Absolute Total Care, Inc denied 1,471,467 of 8,043,578 in-network claims in South Carolina; every one of those denials had these same two dates on it. Across South Carolina as a whole the insurers in this file denied 17% of in-network claims, 3,656,371 of them, and 5,055 were appealed.

Absolute Total Care, Inc denied 18.3% of in-network claims in South Carolina, 1,471,467 claims out of 8,043,578.

Insurance got denied, what to do next?
We hear this most. r/HealthInsurance, thread title, read September 3, 2026.
The number nobody else publishes, and here it is missing. CMS publishes no external-review figure for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina, so nobody, including the regulator, can say whether anyone ever got that far. We print no number rather than reading an absence as a zero. Nationally, 5,881 of 84,502,749 denials reached that stage, one in every 14,369, and 32.8% of those were overturned.

Those 1,471,467 denials are 40.2% of every in-network denial recorded in South Carolina in this release, which makes Absolute Total Care, Inc the 2nd largest source of denials of the 5 insurers reporting there. Spread across its 17 plans in the state that is about 86,557 denials per plan. 1,299 internal appeals were filed against those 1,471,467 denials. Every one of those denials carried the same two dates the tool at the top of this page works out.

The clock your letter has to describe, in actual dates

Two dates matter more than anything else on this page, and they run the same in South Carolina as everywhere else. You have 180 days from the date on your denial notice to file the internal appeal, and then 4 months from the final internal denial to ask for an independent external review. If waiting would seriously jeopardize your health you can ask for both to be expedited, decided in about 72 hours. Both timeframes are federal, not your insurer's choice, 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (PDF) and 45 CFR 147.136 (PDF), in plain English at HealthCare.gov, and your own denial letter states the ones that govern your plan. The PDFs are the same sections on govinfo.gov, which serves them without a challenge page, so an automated reader can check these two dates as easily as you can.

Data verified September 5, 2026 · CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain

You are not alone, and here is the measured version of that sentence: 1,471,467 in-network claims were denied by Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina in a single plan year. A denial rate is a fact about an insurer's book of business. It is not a judgment about you, and it is not the last word on your claim.

What to do tonight
  1. Find the reason code on your denial letter. The reason Absolute Total Care, Inc records most often in South Carolina is administrative reason, but yours may be one of the other 8, copy the exact wording and code off your own letter tonight, because that sentence is what your appeal has to answer.
  2. Ask Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina for the clinical criteria they judged you against. Under 29 CFR 2560.503-1 they have to hand you the claim file and the policy they applied, free, on request, and you cannot argue with a checklist you have never read.
  3. Put both deadlines on your calendar before you go to bed. 180 days from the date on the letter for the internal appeal, 4 months from the final internal denial for external review. The free calculator on this page turns your date into the two calendar dates in about ten seconds. 1,471,467 claims were denied here in a single year and the escalation count for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina is the figure the top of this page records as absent, so how many were escalated is not on the record; the deadline is what decides whether anyone reads the argument.

None of those three steps costs anything. Anyone charging you to do them is selling you something you can do yourself in twenty minutes.

18.3%
In-network denial rate
1,471,467
Claims denied
17
Plans in South Carolina
1,299
Internal appeals filed
not reported
Internal overturn rate

How that compares

Denial rateRateDifference
Absolute Total Care, Inc18.3%,
South Carolina average17%+1.3 pts
National average (this dataset)18.7%-0.4 pts

Absolute Total Care, Inc sits at or below the national average across this dataset. A denial rate is a property of the insurer's book of business, coding practice, plan design, the population it covers, not evidence about the merits of any one claim, including yours.

What happened to appeals

StageFiledOverturned
Internal appeal (to Absolute Total Care, Inc)1,299not reported
External review (independent)not reportednot reported
Read the table for what it is: the external-review row above shows a dash, which means not reported and not zero, the South Carolina absence this page states once at the top for Absolute Total Care, Inc and sources once at the foot. External review is free to you and the insurer must follow the decision, whatever this file does or does not record about it.

What that record means for your own Absolute Total Care, Inc letter, and by when. Absolute Total Care, Inc recorded 1,471,467 denials in South Carolina and no separately reported appeal outcome, so this page cannot tell you how its South Carolina appeals went, the Absolute Total Care, Inc rows in the plan-year 2026 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage file, read September 5, 2026 (data.healthcare.gov). Whichever way that lands, nobody files the appeal for you, and the filing runs on a clock set by which plan you hold: an employer or Marketplace plan gives you at least 180 days from the denial notice to file the internal appeal (29 CFR 2560.503-1(h)(3)(i), carried onto individual-market coverage by 45 CFR 147.136(b)(3)(i)), while Medicare Advantage gives you 60 calendar days after you receive its notice (42 CFR 422.582(b)) and Medicaid managed care the same 60 calendar days from the date on the notice (42 CFR 438.402(c)(2)(ii)), both stages free, and the three steps above are the whole of what to do tonight, so take the date printed on your Absolute Total Care, Inc notice and file well inside whichever of those windows is yours. The free steps are above; the $29 kit is the same clock with the letters pre-filled for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim.

Absolute Total Care, Inc inside South Carolina

Your denial did not happen in a national average. It happened in a state market, alongside 5 other insurers reporting into the same federal file, and these are that market's own figures.

What Absolute Total Care, Inc denies most

The most common denial reason recorded for Absolute Total Care, Inc plans in South Carolina is administrative reason. How that denial is beaten →

Denial reasonClaimsShareNational share
Administrative reason230,41320.5%22.5%
Referral required189,02816.8%8.4%
Service excluded from the plan174,95615.6%11.6%
Not medically necessary167,92115%4.6%
Other reasons130,70611.6%32.3%
Member not covered105,7099.4%6.6%
Benefit limit reached85,0107.6%4.2%
Provider out of network38,5923.4%9.8%

The last column is each reason's share of all categorized denials nationally, so you can see where Absolute Total Care, Inc's mix in South Carolina differs from everyone else's. This is denial mix, not overturn rate by reason, the federal file does not report appeal outcomes broken down by denial reason, and we do not imply otherwise.

Work out your two deadlines

Put the date from your notice in and get the two calendar dates, with the days remaining.

Runs entirely in your browser, the date you type is never sent to us and never stored. Open the full calculator →

The three steps at the top of this page are the whole of what you have to do tonight. The longer version, what the internal appeal has to contain, how the independent stage works, and how to ask for expedited handling when waiting would seriously jeopardize your health, is published free here.

Questions

Is Absolute Total Care, Inc's denial rate in South Carolina high?

18.3% against a national average of 18.7% across the plans in this dataset. It is at or below average. A denial rate describes the insurer, not the merits of your claim.

How many people appealed an Absolute Total Care, Inc denial in South Carolina, and how many won?

1,299 internal appeals were filed against 1,471,467 denials, and the overturn rate was not separately reported. How many went on to independent external review is not on the record for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina, that is the absence stated at the top of this page and sourced at the foot of it.

How does Absolute Total Care, Inc compare with other insurers in South Carolina?

Of the 5 insurers in South Carolina with a reported denial rate, Absolute Total Care, Inc ranks 4 highest at 18.3%. The highest in South Carolina is Select Health of South Carolina at 32.7%; the lowest is Blue Cross and Blue Shield of South Carolina at 15.5%.

What does Absolute Total Care, Inc deny most often in South Carolina?

Administrative reason, 230,413 claims, 20.5% of this issuer's categorized denials, against 22.5% nationally. This is the denial-reason mix; the federal file does not report overturn rates by reason.

How long do I have to appeal an Absolute Total Care, Inc denial in South Carolina?

Generally 180 days from the date on the denial notice to file the internal appeal, then generally four months from the final internal denial to request independent external review. Expedited review, decided in about 72 hours, is available where delay would seriously jeopardize your health. Those timeframes are federal, so they are identical for every insurer reporting in South Carolina, Absolute Total Care, Inc included, what varies by state is who runs the independent review at the end. Your own denial letter states the deadlines that govern your plan; that letter is the authority.

Does appealing an Absolute Total Care, Inc denial in South Carolina cost anything?

The internal appeal to Absolute Total Care, Inc is free. External review is free under the HHS-administered federal process; where an issuer uses a contracted independent review organization or a state process, any fee is capped at $25 per review. Nobody in South Carolina can be charged more than that to file one.

Can Absolute Total Care, Inc ignore an external review decision in South Carolina?

No, and that is the whole point of the stage. External review decisions are binding on the plan by law. The count is the one this page names as absent for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina, so none is printed for it, an absent figure is not a count of none.

Absolute Total Care, Inc sits at 18.3% in South Carolina against 18.7% nationally, and that is the whole of what this page can honestly tell you about your own claim. I am not going to tell you that you will win. This page prints the insurer's own reported numbers whichever way they fall. If what it says does not match the letter in your hand, write to me and I will correct the page.

, Andrew at Axion Labs · hello@getaxionlabs.com
Get my Appeal Kit, $29

Everything you need for your Absolute Total Care, Inc appeal in South Carolina: your two deadlines, the argument that fits your denial reason, the letters, the clinician brief, and the external review request. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. Opens on screen the moment you pay. 14-day refund, no questions, one email to hello@getaxionlabs.com.

Where these numbers come from

The Absolute Total Care, Inc figures on this page, the 18.3% denial rate, the 1,471,467 denials, are this issuer’s own reported rows in that file. CMS did not report an external-review figure for Absolute Total Care, Inc in South Carolina in the plan-year 2026 release of the Transparency in Coverage file, which is why no external-review count appears above.

Counts: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain. Rights and timeframes: 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file) and 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies), explained at HealthCare.gov. Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours under both sections.

Reading either regulation from a script rather than a browser: eCFR answers automated fetches with a challenge page, so the same two sections are mirrored as government PDFs at govinfo.gov (29 CFR 2560.503-1) and govinfo.gov (45 CFR 147.136).

This page presents federal statistics and a general description of appeal rights created by federal law. It is not legal, medical, or insurance advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. Your denial letter and plan documents govern your specific case. Free help is available from your state's Consumer Assistance Program and from the federal Marketplace at HealthCare.gov.
Problem solved: You have both dates for your Absolute Total Care, Inc notice, you know that South Carolina runs the external review itself, and you have the letter, free, on this screen, tonight.

Your words, in a box, read by a person. We ask for no name and no email.