CareSource West Virginia denied your claim. Here is your deadline.
Put in the date on your CareSource West Virginia Co. notice and get both federal deadlines as calendar dates.
Free, for a CareSource West Virginia Co. denial in West Virginia, and it runs entirely in your browser. The date, the plan type and the state you pick are never sent to us and never stored.
CareSource West Virginia Co. denied 198,752 of 843,758 in-network claims in West Virginia; every one of those denials had these same two dates on it. Across West Virginia as a whole the insurers in this file denied 21% of in-network claims, 669,877 of them, and 1,123 were appealed.
CareSource West Virginia Co. denied 23.6% of in-network claims in West Virginia, 198,752 claims out of 843,758.
Insurance got denied, what to do next?
Those 198,752 denials are 29.7% of every in-network denial recorded in West Virginia in this release, which makes CareSource West Virginia Co. the 2nd largest source of denials of the 2 insurers reporting there. Spread across its 22 plans in the state that is about 9,034 denials per plan. 993 internal appeals were filed against those 198,752 denials. Every one of those denials carried the same two dates the tool at the top of this page works out.
Two dates matter more than anything else on this page, and they run the same in West Virginia as everywhere else. You have 180 days from the date on your denial notice to file the internal appeal, and then 4 months from the final internal denial to ask for an independent external review. If waiting would seriously jeopardize your health you can ask for both to be expedited, decided in about 72 hours. Both timeframes are federal, not your insurer's choice, 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (PDF) and 45 CFR 147.136 (PDF), in plain English at HealthCare.gov, and your own denial letter states the ones that govern your plan. The PDFs are the same sections on govinfo.gov, which serves them without a challenge page, so an automated reader can check these two dates as easily as you can.
You are not alone, and here is the measured version of that sentence: 198,752 in-network claims were denied by CareSource West Virginia Co. in West Virginia in a single plan year. A denial rate is a fact about an insurer's book of business. It is not a judgment about you, and it is not the last word on your claim.
- Of the 2 insurers reporting a denial rate in West Virginia, CareSource West Virginia Co. is the first highest at 23.6%. The highest in the state is 23.6% and the lowest is 20.1%.
- That is 4.9 percentage points above the 18.7% national average across this dataset, and 2.6 points above the West Virginia average of 21%.
- Behind the percentage: 843,758 in-network claims were processed under 22 plans in West Virginia, and 198,752 of them came back denied.
- For every 10,000 claims CareSource West Virginia Co. denied, about 50 came back as an internal appeal. The other 9,950 stopped at the letter.
- 54 of those denials went on to independent external review, the stage whose decision the plan is required by law to accept. Nationally 32.8% of external reviews are overturned.
- Its most-recorded denial reason is other reasons at 20.3% of its categorized denials, against 32.3% nationally, a lighter share than the country as a whole. That is the denial mix, not an outcome rate.
- CareSource West Virginia Co. accounts for 29.7% of every in-network claim denied in West Virginia in this file.
- By raw volume it is the 72th largest source of denials among the 158 insurer-state records in the file that report one.
- Put another way: one independent external review was filed for every 3,681 claims CareSource West Virginia Co. denied in West Virginia.
- After that, its second-most-recorded reason is administrative reason, 61,421 claims, 18.9% of its categorized denials.
- Third on its own list is member not covered, 58,685 claims, 18.1% of what CareSource West Virginia Co. categorized in West Virginia. Between them the top three account for 57.3% of its categorized denials.
- Where CareSource West Virginia Co. differs most from the national mix is member not covered: 18.1% of its categorized denials in West Virginia against 6.6% across the file.
- Read the other way round: 645,006 of those 843,758 in-network claims were paid, 76.4% of everything CareSource West Virginia Co. processed in West Virginia.
- Spread across the 22 plans it reports in West Virginia, that is about 9,034 denied claims per plan, on about 38,353 claims processed per plan.
- Its reason columns add up to 324,314 categorized rows against 198,752 denials, 163.2% of them, and every reason share on this page is a share of that first figure rather than of the second.
- Its smallest recorded category in West Virginia is not medically necessary, 11 claims, 0% of what CareSource West Virginia Co. categorized there.
- Against the file as a whole, this one record is 0.2% of the 84,502,749 in-network claim denials reported by every issuer in it.
- Find the reason code on your denial letter. The reason CareSource West Virginia Co. records most often in West Virginia is other reasons, but yours may be one of the other 8, copy the exact wording and code off your own letter tonight, because that sentence is what your appeal has to answer.
- Ask CareSource West Virginia Co. in West Virginia for the clinical criteria they judged you against. Under 29 CFR 2560.503-1 they have to hand you the claim file and the policy they applied, free, on request, and you cannot argue with a checklist you have never read.
- Put both deadlines on your calendar before you go to bed. 180 days from the date on the letter for the internal appeal, 4 months from the final internal denial for external review. The free calculator on this page turns your date into the two calendar dates in about ten seconds. 198,752 claims were denied here in a single year and 54 were escalated; the deadline is what decides whether anyone reads the argument.
None of those three steps costs anything. Anyone charging you to do them is selling you something you can do yourself in twenty minutes.
How that compares
| Denial rate | Rate | Difference |
|---|---|---|
| CareSource West Virginia Co. | 23.6% | , |
| West Virginia average | 21% | +2.6 pts |
| National average (this dataset) | 18.7% | +4.9 pts |
CareSource West Virginia Co. denies 4.9 percentage points more of its in-network claims than the national average across this dataset. A denial rate is a property of the insurer's book of business, coding practice, plan design, the population it covers, not evidence about the merits of any one claim, including yours.
What happened to appeals
| Stage | Filed | Overturned |
|---|---|---|
| Internal appeal (to CareSource West Virginia Co.) | 993 | not reported |
| External review (independent) | 54 | 31.48% |
The gap nobody escalated
198,752 claims denied. 993 internal appeals filed. 54 reached independent external review. Nationally 32.8% of external reviews are overturned and the decision binds the plan.
That is arithmetic from the reported figures, not a prediction: nobody can say what those specific denials would have done at review, because they never got there. What the numbers do establish is that the binding stage was almost entirely unused here.
What that record means for your own CareSource West Virginia Co. letter, and by when. CareSource West Virginia Co. recorded 198,752 denials in West Virginia and no separately reported appeal outcome, so this page cannot tell you how its West Virginia appeals went, the CareSource West Virginia Co. rows in the plan-year 2026 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage file, read September 5, 2026 (data.healthcare.gov). Whichever way that lands, nobody files the appeal for you, and the filing runs on a clock set by which plan you hold: an employer or Marketplace plan gives you at least 180 days from the denial notice to file the internal appeal (29 CFR 2560.503-1(h)(3)(i), carried onto individual-market coverage by 45 CFR 147.136(b)(3)(i)), while Medicare Advantage gives you 60 calendar days after you receive its notice (42 CFR 422.582(b)) and Medicaid managed care the same 60 calendar days from the date on the notice (42 CFR 438.402(c)(2)(ii)), both stages free, and the three steps above are the whole of what to do tonight, so take the date printed on your CareSource West Virginia Co. notice and file well inside whichever of those windows is yours. The free steps are above; the $29 kit is the same clock with the letters pre-filled for CareSource West Virginia Co. in West Virginia. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim.
CareSource West Virginia Co. inside West Virginia
Your denial did not happen in a national average. It happened in a state market, alongside 1 other insurer reporting into the same federal file, and these are that market's own figures.
- Across the whole of West Virginia, the 2 insurers reporting in this file processed 3,184,929 in-network claims and denied 669,877 of them, a state denial rate of 21%. CareSource West Virginia Co. is one of those 2.
- That puts West Virginia fourth of 30 states by denial rate, 2.3 points above the 18.7% national average, before you get to what CareSource West Virginia Co. did inside it.
- West Virginia recorded 1,123 internal appeals against those denials: one appeal for every 597 claims the state's insurers refused. CareSource West Virginia Co.'s own ratio is one for every 200.
- Independent external review was reached 54 times in the whole of West Virginia, once for every 12,405 denials, against one in 14,369 nationally. 54 of those West Virginia filings came from CareSource West Virginia Co.'s denials.
- Of the West Virginia external reviews that were filed, 17 were overturned, 31.5%. That percentage is measured on 54 reviews, which is why the count beside it matters more than the rate does when you are deciding whether to file against CareSource West Virginia Co..
- The reason West Virginia's insurers record most often is other reasons, 236,861 claims, 44.5% of the state's categorized denials. CareSource West Virginia Co. records the same one most often, so your letter is likely to say it too.
- The other insurers a West Virginia reader could have bought from run from 20.1% (Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield West Virginia) to 20.1% (Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield West Virginia). CareSource West Virginia Co. at 23.6% sits above all of them.
- Put the two together and CareSource West Virginia Co. is responsible for 29.7% of every in-network claim denied in West Virginia in this release, from 26.5% of the claims the state's insurers processed.
- Every West Virginia figure in this section is that state's own row in the same federal file CareSource West Virginia Co.'s numbers above come from, CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain, and the full West Virginia page is free at /states/west-virginia.
What CareSource West Virginia Co. denies most
The most common denial reason recorded for CareSource West Virginia Co. plans in West Virginia is other reasons. How that denial is beaten →
| Denial reason | Claims | Share | National share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other reasons | 65,878 | 20.3% | 32.3% |
| Administrative reason | 61,421 | 18.9% | 22.5% |
| Member not covered | 58,685 | 18.1% | 6.6% |
| Provider out of network | 56,434 | 17.4% | 9.8% |
| Service excluded from the plan | 42,524 | 13.1% | 11.6% |
| Referral required | 29,406 | 9.1% | 8.4% |
| Benefit limit reached | 9,943 | 3.1% | 4.2% |
| Experimental or investigational | 12 | 0% | 0.1% |
| Not medically necessary | 11 | 0% | 4.6% |
The last column is each reason's share of all categorized denials nationally, so you can see where CareSource West Virginia Co.'s mix in West Virginia differs from everyone else's. This is denial mix, not overturn rate by reason, the federal file does not report appeal outcomes broken down by denial reason, and we do not imply otherwise.
Put the date from your notice in and get the two calendar dates, with the days remaining.
Runs entirely in your browser, the date you type is never sent to us and never stored. Open the full calculator →
The three steps at the top of this page are the whole of what you have to do tonight. The longer version, what the internal appeal has to contain, how the independent stage works, and how to ask for expedited handling when waiting would seriously jeopardize your health, is published free here.
Questions
Is CareSource West Virginia Co.'s denial rate in West Virginia high?
23.6% against a national average of 18.7% across the plans in this dataset. It is above average. A denial rate describes the insurer, not the merits of your claim.
How many people appealed a CareSource West Virginia Co. denial in West Virginia, and how many won?
993 internal appeals were filed against 198,752 denials, and the overturn rate was not separately reported. 54 went on to independent external review.
How does CareSource West Virginia Co. compare with other insurers in West Virginia?
Of the 2 insurers in West Virginia with a reported denial rate, CareSource West Virginia Co. ranks 1 highest at 23.6%. The highest in West Virginia is CareSource West Virginia Co. at 23.6%; the lowest is Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield West Virginia at 20.1%.
What does CareSource West Virginia Co. deny most often in West Virginia?
Other reasons, 65,878 claims, 20.3% of this issuer's categorized denials, against 32.3% nationally. This is the denial-reason mix; the federal file does not report overturn rates by reason.
How long do I have to appeal a CareSource West Virginia Co. denial in West Virginia?
Generally 180 days from the date on the denial notice to file the internal appeal, then generally four months from the final internal denial to request independent external review. Expedited review, decided in about 72 hours, is available where delay would seriously jeopardize your health. Those timeframes are federal, so they are identical for every insurer reporting in West Virginia, CareSource West Virginia Co. included, what varies by state is who runs the independent review at the end. Your own denial letter states the deadlines that govern your plan; that letter is the authority.
Does appealing a CareSource West Virginia Co. denial in West Virginia cost anything?
The internal appeal to CareSource West Virginia Co. is free. External review is free under the HHS-administered federal process; where an issuer uses a contracted independent review organization or a state process, any fee is capped at $25 per review. Nobody in West Virginia can be charged more than that to file one.
Can CareSource West Virginia Co. ignore an external review decision in West Virginia?
No, and that is the whole point of the stage. External review decisions are binding on the plan by law, which is what makes the 54 external reviews recorded against 198,752 CareSource West Virginia Co. denials in West Virginia the striking number on this page.
CareSource West Virginia Co. sits at 23.6% in West Virginia against 18.7% nationally, and that is the whole of what this page can honestly tell you about your own claim. I am not going to tell you that you will win. This page prints the insurer's own reported numbers whichever way they fall. If what it says does not match the letter in your hand, write to me and I will correct the page.
, Andrew at Axion Labs · hello@getaxionlabs.comEverything you need for your CareSource West Virginia Co. appeal in West Virginia: your two deadlines, the argument that fits your denial reason, the letters, the clinician brief, and the external review request. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. Opens on screen the moment you pay. 14-day refund, no questions, one email to hello@getaxionlabs.com.
The CareSource West Virginia Co. figures on this page, the 23.6% denial rate, the 198,752 denials and the 54 external reviews, are this issuer’s own reported rows in that file.
Counts: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain. Rights and timeframes: 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file) and 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies), explained at HealthCare.gov. Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours under both sections.
Reading either regulation from a script rather than a browser: eCFR answers automated fetches with a challenge page, so the same two sections are mirrored as government PDFs at govinfo.gov (29 CFR 2560.503-1) and govinfo.gov (45 CFR 147.136).