Denial Facts
Utah

BridgeSpan denied your claim in Utah. Here is your deadline.

Your two dates, free

Put in the date on your BridgeSpan Health Company notice and get both federal deadlines as calendar dates.

Free, for a BridgeSpan Health Company denial in Utah, and it runs entirely in your browser. The date, the plan type and the state you pick are never sent to us and never stored.

BridgeSpan Health Company denied 1,182 of 5,902 in-network claims in Utah; every one of those denials had these same two dates on it. Across Utah as a whole the insurers in this file denied 17.3% of in-network claims, 1,967,874 of them, and 2,339 were appealed.

BridgeSpan Health Company denied 20% of in-network claims in Utah, 1,182 claims out of 5,902.

Further down this page, after the free steps: the paid next step.

Insurance got denied, what to do next?
We hear this most. r/HealthInsurance, thread title, read September 3, 2026.
The number nobody else publishes. Not one of the 1,182 denials BridgeSpan Health Company issued in Utah reached the independent review its own staff do not decide, an explicit zero in this insurer's own filed row, not an absence. The stage was there the whole time and it binds the plan. Nationally 22.2% (1,092 of 4,918; interval 22.2-23.8% for counts CMS withheld; 32.6% without SelectHealth) of the reviews that got there were overturned.

Those 1,182 denials are 0.1% of every in-network denial recorded in Utah in this release, which makes BridgeSpan Health Company the 4th largest source of denials of the 5 insurers reporting there. Spread across its 3 plans in the state that is about 394 denials per plan. Every one of those denials carried the same two dates the tool at the top of this page works out.

The clock your letter has to describe, in actual dates

Two dates matter more than anything else on this page, and they run the same in Utah as everywhere else. You have 180 days from the date on your denial notice to file the internal appeal, and then 4 months from the final internal denial to ask for an independent external review. If waiting would seriously jeopardize your health you can ask for both to be expedited, decided in about 72 hours. Both timeframes are federal, not your insurer's choice, 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (PDF) and 45 CFR 147.136 (PDF), in plain English at HealthCare.gov, and your own denial letter states the ones that govern your plan. The PDFs are the same sections on govinfo.gov, which serves them without a challenge page, so an automated reader can check these two dates as easily as you can.

Data verified November 4, 2026 · CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2027 release, PY2025 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain

You are not alone, and here is the measured version of that sentence: 1,182 in-network claims were denied by BridgeSpan Health Company in Utah in a single plan year. A denial rate is a fact about an insurer's book of business. It is not a judgment about you, and it is not the last word on your claim.

What to do tonight
  1. Find the reason code on your denial letter. The reason BridgeSpan Health Company records most often in Utah is other reasons, but yours may be one of the other 8, copy the exact wording and code off your own letter tonight, because that sentence is what your appeal has to answer.
  2. Ask BridgeSpan Health Company in Utah for the clinical criteria they judged you against. Under 29 CFR 2560.503-1 they have to hand you the claim file and the policy they applied, free, on request, and you cannot argue with a checklist you have never read.
  3. Put both deadlines on your calendar before you go to bed. 180 days from the date on the letter for the internal appeal, 4 months from the final internal denial for external review. The free calculator on this page turns your date into the two calendar dates in about ten seconds. 1,182 claims were denied here in a single year and not one was escalated; the deadline is what decides whether anyone reads the argument.

None of those three steps costs anything. Anyone charging you to do them is selling you something you can do yourself in twenty minutes.

20%
In-network denial rate
1,182
Claims denied
3
Plans in Utah
not reported
Internal appeals filed
not reported
Internal overturn rate

How that compares

Denial rateRateDifference
BridgeSpan Health Company20%,
Utah average17.3%+2.7 pts
National average (this dataset)15.7%+4.3 pts

BridgeSpan Health Company denies 4.3 percentage points more of its in-network claims than the national average across this dataset. A denial rate is a property of the insurer's book of business, coding practice, plan design, the population it covers, not evidence about the merits of any one claim, including yours.

What happened to appeals

StageFiledOverturned
Internal appeal (to BridgeSpan Health Company)not reportednot reported
External review (independent)0not reported
Read that again: BridgeSpan Health Company denied 1,182 claims in Utah, and not one went to independent external review. External review is free to you and the insurer must follow the decision.

The gap nobody escalated

1,182 claims denied. not reported internal appeals filed. None reached independent external review. Nationally 22.2% (1,092 of 4,918; interval 22.2-23.8% for counts CMS withheld; 32.6% without SelectHealth) of external reviews are overturned and the decision binds the plan.

That is arithmetic from the reported figures, not a prediction: nobody can say what those specific denials would have done at review, because they never got there. What the numbers do establish is that the binding stage was almost entirely unused here.

What that record means for your own BridgeSpan Health Company letter, and by when. BridgeSpan Health Company recorded 1,182 denials in Utah and no separately reported appeal outcome, so this page cannot tell you how its Utah appeals went, the BridgeSpan Health Company rows in the plan-year 2027 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage file, read November 4, 2026 (data.healthcare.gov). Whichever way that lands, nobody files the appeal for you, and the filing runs on a clock set by which plan you hold: an employer or Marketplace plan gives you at least 180 days from the denial notice to file the internal appeal (29 CFR 2560.503-1(h)(3)(i), carried onto individual-market coverage by 45 CFR 147.136(b)(3)(i)), while Medicare Advantage gives you 65 calendar days from the date of its notice (CMS, 42 CFR 422.582(b)) and Medicaid managed care 60 calendar days from the date on the notice (42 CFR 438.402(c)(2)(ii)), both stages free, and the three steps above are the whole of what to do tonight, so take the date printed on your BridgeSpan Health Company notice and file well inside whichever of those windows is yours. The free steps are above; the $29 kit is the same clock with the letters pre-filled for BridgeSpan Health Company in Utah. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim.

BridgeSpan Health Company inside Utah

Your denial did not happen in a national average. It happened in a state market, alongside 4 other insurers reporting into the same federal file, and these are that market's own figures.

What BridgeSpan Health Company denies most

The most common denial reason recorded for BridgeSpan Health Company plans in Utah is other reasons. How that denial is beaten →

Denial reasonClaimsShareNational share
Other reasons1,49497.4%32.4%
Administrative reason402.6%17.2%

The last column is each reason's share of all categorized denials nationally, so you can see where BridgeSpan Health Company's mix in Utah differs from everyone else's. This is denial mix, not overturn rate by reason, the federal file does not report appeal outcomes broken down by denial reason, and we do not imply otherwise.

Work out your two deadlines

Put the date from your notice in and get the two calendar dates, with the days remaining.

Runs entirely in your browser, the date you type is never sent to us and never stored. Open the full calculator →

The three steps at the top of this page are the whole of what you have to do tonight. The longer version, what the internal appeal has to contain, how the independent stage works, and how to ask for expedited handling when waiting would seriously jeopardize your health, is published free here.

Questions

Is BridgeSpan Health Company's denial rate in Utah high?

20% against a national average of 15.7% across the plans in this dataset. It is above average. A denial rate describes the insurer, not the merits of your claim.

How many people appealed a BridgeSpan Health Company denial in Utah, and how many won?

Appeal volumes were not separately reported for BridgeSpan Health Company in Utah. Across Utah as a whole 2,339 internal appeals were filed against 1,967,874 denials, one for every 841 refused, and that is the state figure, not this company's. Nationally, 26.8% of internal appeals and 22.2% of external reviews are overturned.

How does BridgeSpan Health Company compare with other insurers in Utah?

Of the 5 insurers in Utah with a reported denial rate, BridgeSpan Health Company ranks 2 highest at 20%. The highest in Utah is Imperial Health Plan of the Southwest, Inc. at 28.8%; the lowest is Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah at 13.5%.

What does BridgeSpan Health Company deny most often in Utah?

Other reasons, 1,494 claims, 97.4% of this issuer's categorized denials, against 32.4% nationally. This is the denial-reason mix; the federal file does not report overturn rates by reason.

How long do I have to appeal a BridgeSpan Health Company denial in Utah?

Generally 180 days from the date on the denial notice to file the internal appeal, then generally four months from the final internal denial to request independent external review. Expedited review, decided in about 72 hours, is available where delay would seriously jeopardize your health. Those timeframes are federal, so they are identical for every insurer reporting in Utah, BridgeSpan Health Company included, what varies by state is who runs the independent review at the end. Your own denial letter states the deadlines that govern your plan; that letter is the authority.

Does appealing a BridgeSpan Health Company denial in Utah cost anything?

The internal appeal to BridgeSpan Health Company is free. External review is free under the HHS-administered federal process; where an issuer uses a contracted independent review organization or a state process, any fee is capped at $25 per review. Nobody in Utah can be charged more than that to file one.

Can BridgeSpan Health Company ignore an external review decision in Utah?

No, and that is the whole point of the stage. External review decisions are binding on the plan by law, which is what makes the zero external reviews recorded against 1,182 BridgeSpan Health Company denials in Utah the striking number on this page.

The line on this page we would read twice is the one that says not one of BridgeSpan Health Company's 1,182 denials in Utah reached independent review. We are not going to tell you that you will win. This page prints the insurer's own reported numbers whichever way they fall. If what it says does not match the letter in your hand, write to us and we will correct the page.

Axion Labs · hello@getaxionlabs.com
Get my Appeal Kit, $29

Everything you need for your BridgeSpan Health Company appeal in Utah: your two deadlines, the argument that fits your denial reason, the letters, a brief for your doctor on what the reviewer checks, and the external review request. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. Opens on screen the moment you pay. 14-day refund, no questions, one email to hello@getaxionlabs.com.

Where these numbers come from

The BridgeSpan Health Company figures on this page, the 20% denial rate, the 1,182 denials and the 0 external reviews, are this issuer’s own reported rows in that file.

Counts: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2027 release, PY2025 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain. Rights and timeframes: 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file) and 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies), explained at HealthCare.gov. Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours under both sections.

Reading either regulation from a script rather than a browser: eCFR answers automated fetches with a challenge page, so the same two sections are mirrored as government PDFs at govinfo.gov (29 CFR 2560.503-1) and govinfo.gov (45 CFR 147.136).

This page presents federal statistics and a general description of appeal rights created by federal law. It is not legal, medical, or insurance advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. Your denial letter and plan documents govern your specific case. Free help is available from your state's Consumer Assistance Program and from the federal Marketplace at HealthCare.gov.
Problem solved: You have both dates for your BridgeSpan Health Company notice, you know that Utah runs the external review itself, and you have the letter, free, on this screen, tonight.

Your words, in a box, read by a person. We ask for no name and no email.