Denial Facts
Arizona

Denied in Arizona? Here is the phone number, then the date.

Before you write anything, call this free number: 1-866-444-3272, the U.S. Department of Labor, for a job-based plan.
Your two dates, free

Put in the date on your notice and get both federal deadlines as calendar dates.

Free, for a denial in Arizona, and it runs entirely in your browser. The date, the plan type and the state you pick are never sent to us and never stored.

It also tells you whether your external review goes to Arizona or to the federal process, the part that is not the same in every state.

Why there is no Arizona number on this page. Arizona has a free consumer service that will take your side, and its own site refused or timed out on every page we tried on September 9, 2026. We do not print a number we have not re-read at source. Search for the Arizona department of insurance consumer services line, or use the Department of Labor number above if your coverage is through a job. Either call costs nothing and does not use up your 180 days. Know the current number? Tell us and we publish it the same day.

Insurers in Arizona denied 1,581,162 in-network claims in this release, 20.1% of everything submitted.

Insurance company denied claim. What do we do?
We hear this most. r/personalfinance, thread title, read September 3, 2026.

Those are the plan-year 2026 release figures, from the federal Transparency in Coverage file issued September 26, 2025. Just 365 of those Arizona denials reached independent external review, and 23.6% of those were overturned.

The clock your letter has to describe, in actual dates

The deadlines are federal, so they are the same in every state. You have 180 days from the date on your denial notice to file the internal appeal, and then 4 months from the final internal denial to ask for an independent external review. If waiting would seriously jeopardize your health you can ask for both to be expedited, decided in about 72 hours. Both timeframes are federal, not your insurer's choice, 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (PDF) and 45 CFR 147.136 (PDF), in plain English at HealthCare.gov, and your own denial letter states the ones that govern your plan. The PDFs are the same sections on govinfo.gov, which serves them without a challenge page, so an automated reader can check these two dates as easily as you can.

Data verified September 5, 2026 · CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain

You are not alone in this, and it can be measured: insurers in Arizona denied 1,581,162 in-network claims in a single plan year across 7 reporting insurers. Of those denials, 365 reached the one stage whose decision the insurer has to obey.

What to do tonight
  1. Find the reason code on your denial letter. Whichever of the 7 insurers reporting in Arizona sent it, the notice has to state the specific reason and the plan provision behind it. Copy both onto paper tonight.
  2. Ask your insurer for the clinical criteria they judged you against. Under 29 CFR 2560.503-1 they have to hand you the claim file and the policy they applied, free, on request, and you cannot argue with a checklist you have never read.
  3. Put both deadlines on your calendar before you go to bed. 180 days from the date on the letter for the internal appeal, 4 months from the final internal denial for external review. The free calculator on this page turns your date into the two calendar dates in about ten seconds. 365 external reviews were filed in Arizona against 1,581,162 denials. Missing the date is what decides whether anyone reads the argument.

None of those three steps costs anything. Anyone charging you to do them is selling you something you can do yourself in twenty minutes.

1,581,162
Claims denied
20.1%
Denial rate
7
Insurers reporting
365
External reviews filed
23.6%
External overturn rate
Your rights in Arizona are federal. Every non-grandfathered plan must give you an internal appeal, and an independent external review for denials involving medical judgment, experimental or investigational determinations, or rescission of coverage. Your denial letter names the route and the deadline for your plan, that letter is the authority.
External review route in Arizona
State-run process
CMS lists Arizona as running its own external review process that meets the federal standards, so your independent review is handled through the state program rather than the federal one. Source: the CCIIO state external review table, read August 3, 2026.
This route assumes an insured plan, check before you rely on it. This route is the one for insured plans, Marketplace, individual, and employer plans where an insurance company carries the risk. If your coverage is through a job and the employer pays the claims itself (a self-funded or self-insured plan, which is 63% of covered workers), the state process does not apply to you whatever your state operates, and your external review goes through the federal process instead. Your denial letter names your route; if it does not, ask your plan in writing whether the plan is self-funded. That share is KFF's 2024 Employer Health Benefits Survey, Section 10.
External review is not always free, but it is capped. There is no charge under the HHS-administered federal process. Where your insurer uses a contracted independent review organization or a state process, a filing fee may apply, but it cannot exceed $25 per review.

What that Arizona external-review count means for your own denial, and by when. 365 independent external reviews were filed in Arizona against 1,581,162 denials, and 23.6% of them were overturned, Arizona's own rows in the plan-year 2026 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage file, read September 5, 2026 (data.healthcare.gov). Whichever way that lands, nobody files the appeal for you, and the filing runs on a clock set by which plan you hold: an employer or Marketplace plan gives you at least 180 days from the denial notice to file the internal appeal (29 CFR 2560.503-1(h)(3)(i), carried onto individual-market coverage by 45 CFR 147.136(b)(3)(i)), while Medicare Advantage gives you 60 calendar days after you receive its notice (42 CFR 422.582(b)) and Medicaid managed care the same 60 calendar days from the date on the notice (42 CFR 438.402(c)(2)(ii)), both stages free, and the three steps above are the whole of what to do tonight, and the Arizona route at the end of them is on this page. Nothing on this page is for sale: the consumer line above, the letter and the deadline calculator are all free, and none of them asks for an email.

Insurers in Arizona

InsurerDenial rateDeniedExternal reviews
Imperial Insurance Companies, Inc.33.1%7930
Oscar Health Plan, Inc.28.1%82,246152
UnitedHealthcare of Arizona, Inc.23.8%646,18133
Health Net of Arizona, Inc.18.6%596,289not reported
Cigna HealthCare of Arizona, Inc16.2%22,637not reported
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Arizona, Inc.15.3%233,016180
Antidote Health Plan of Arizona, Inc.not reportednot reportednot reported
Work out your two deadlines

Put the date from your notice in and get the two calendar dates, with the days remaining.

Runs entirely in your browser, the date you type is never sent to us and never stored. Open the full calculator →

Questions about appealing in Arizona

What percentage of health insurance claims are denied in Arizona?

20.1%, insurers in Arizona denied 1,581,162 of 7,874,919 in-network claims across 7 reporting insurers, in the plan-year 2026 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File. The national rate in the plan-year 2026 release is 18.7%.

Does Arizona run its own external review, or does the federal process apply?

Arizona runs its own external review process meeting the federal standards, so an independent review there is handled through the state program rather than the federal one. Source: the CCIIO state external review table, linked above and read August 3, 2026. One exception matters more than the rest: This route is the one for insured plans, Marketplace, individual, and employer plans where an insurance company carries the risk. If your coverage is through a job and the employer pays the claims itself (a self-funded or self-insured plan, which is 63% of covered workers), the state process does not apply to you whatever your state operates, and your external review goes through the federal process instead. Your denial letter names your route; if it does not, ask your plan in writing whether the plan is self-funded.

My plan is through my job, does this state route apply to me?

Only if an insurance company carries the risk. If your employer pays the claims itself, a self-funded or self-insured plan, which is 63% of covered workers, your plan is not insurance and is outside state insurance regulation, so Arizona's process does not apply to you and your external review goes through the federal process instead. Filing with the state insurance department in that situation is one of the most common ways the external-review stage is lost without ever being heard. Three free ways to check which you have: your ID card and plan documents (self-funded plans usually name the insurer as "administrator" or "third-party administrator"), the Summary Plan Description your employer must give you on request, and your employer's Form 5500 at efast.dol.gov. Your denial letter names your actual route and is the authority.

How much does external review cost in Arizona?

Nothing under the HHS-administered federal process. Where an insurer uses a contracted independent review organization or a state process, a filing fee may apply but it cannot exceed $25 per review. The internal appeal is free in every case. Anyone asking you for more than that cap to file an external review is not describing the federal scheme.

How many people in Arizona reached independent external review, and how many won?

365 external reviews were filed against 1,581,162 denials in Arizona in the reported year, and 23.6% of those were overturned. Nationally, 32.8% of external reviews are overturned and the decision is binding on the plan.

Which insurer in Arizona denies the most?

By rate, Imperial Insurance Companies, Inc. at 33.1% of in-network claims (793 denied). 6 insurers in Arizona report a denial rate; the lowest is Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Arizona, Inc. at 15.3%. A denial rate describes the insurer's book of business, not the merits of an individual claim.

How long do I have to appeal a denial in Arizona?

Appeal deadlines are federal, not state: generally 180 days from the denial notice for the internal appeal, then generally four months from the final internal denial to request external review. Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours where delay would seriously jeopardize your health. Your denial letter states the deadlines that govern your plan.

Arizona runs 6 insurers with reported rates and they are not close to each other, that is the bit of this page I would not skip. The deadlines are federal, so they are the same wherever you live. What changes by state is who runs the independent review at the end, and getting that wrong is one of the most common ways people lose the last stage without ever being heard. That is why the route for this state is near the top of this page rather than in a footnote. If your plan is through a job, read the self-funded note carefully; it decides which door your review goes through.

, Andrew at Axion Labs · hello@getaxionlabs.com

Write my appeal letter, free

Nothing on this page is for sale. The Arizona consumer line above is free, the letter is free, and the deadline calculator is free. If you would rather have every step dated around your denial, the Appeal Kit is on its own page, you do not need it to use anything here.

Where these numbers come from

The Arizona figures on this page, 20.1%, 1,581,162 denials and 365 external reviews across 7 insurers, are the state’s own rows in the plan-year 2026 release, issued September 26, 2025. Across the three Transparency in Coverage releases CMS has published, external reviews filed rose from 2,336 to 5,881 while the share overturned fell from 44% in the plan-year 2024 release to 32.8% in the plan-year 2026 release. The external-review route above comes from the CCIIO state external review table, read August 3, 2026.

Counts: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2026 release, PY2024 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain. Rights and timeframes: 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file) and 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies), explained at HealthCare.gov. Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours under both sections.

Reading either regulation from a script rather than a browser: eCFR answers automated fetches with a challenge page, so the same two sections are mirrored as government PDFs at govinfo.gov (29 CFR 2560.503-1) and govinfo.gov (45 CFR 147.136).

This page presents federal statistics and a general description of appeal rights created by federal law. It is not legal, medical, or insurance advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. Your denial letter and plan documents govern your specific case. Free help is available from your state's Consumer Assistance Program and from the federal Marketplace at HealthCare.gov.

Your words, in a box, read by a person. We ask for no name and no email.