---
title: "Which insurance companies deny the most claims? 152 ranked"
url: "https://denialfacts.com/insurers"
publisher: "Axion Labs — Denial Facts"
checked: "2026-11-04"
dataset_fixity: "sha256-cda2f9b89c8dde2a74989a35dbe7c0d08ff35dac5456484dc1c03c1b181a67b6"
---

# Which insurance companies deny the most claims? All 152, ranked

## Figures

| Figure | Value |
| --- | --- |
| In-network claims denied | 83,907,852 |
| National denial rate | 15.7% |
| Internal appeals filed | 241,596 |
| External reviews filed | 4,918 |
| Of those, overturned | 22.2% |

## What this ranking is

By number, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas denied the most claims in the plan-year 2027 CMS Transparency in Coverage file , 13,945,257 in-network claims in Texas (21.1%); by share, among records with at least 200,000 claims received, Capital Health Plan in Florida denied the most, 96.2%. What insurance company denies the most claims, record by record: 152 insurer-state records, 123 companies across 29 states, ranked by the share of in-network claims they denied. These are insurance denial rates as the companies themselves reported them, not a list somebody assembled. National average: 15.7% . The last column is the one that should be bigger. Looking for a shorter list? Health insurance denial rates by company ranks the national brands rather than the 152 insurer-state records, and what are the worst health insurance companies answers the superlative four different honest ways. The same CMS file, per brand: Blue Cross Blue Shield denial rate , United Healthcare denial rate . 97 insurer-state records that appeared in earlier releases are not in the plan-year 2027 file, because those insurers moved off the federal Exchange platform. Their old URLs redirect to the state page for the market they were in, which carries current figures; none of them is counted in the 152 above.

## Every reporting insurer, by denial rate

| Insurer | State | Denial rate | Claims denied | External reviews | Page |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Capital Health Plan | Florida | 96.2% | 448,953 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/capital-health-plan--fl |
| Imperial Insurance Companies, Inc. | Arizona | 50.1% | 4,472 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/imperial-insurance-companies-inc--az |
| Imperial Insurance Companies, Inc. | Texas | 36.8% | 9,707 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/imperial-insurance-companies-inc--tx |
| Blue Care Network of Michigan | Michigan | 30.9% | 1,248,675 | 68 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-care-network-of-michigan--mi |
| Harvard Pilgrim Health Care of NE | New Hampshire | 30% | 31,257 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/harvard-pilgrim-health-care-of-ne--nh |
| Select Health of South Carolina | South Carolina | 29.9% | 72,807 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/select-health-of-south-carolina--sc |
| AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Next, Inc. | Delaware | 29.3% | 63,845 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/amerihealth-caritas-vip-next-inc--de |
| Imperial Health Plan of the Southwest, Inc. | Utah | 28.8% | 242 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/imperial-health-plan-of-the-southwest-inc--ut |
| Premera Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alaska | Alaska | 26.3% | 225,470 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/premera-blue-cross-blue-shield-of-alaska--ak |
| Hawaii Medical Service Association | Hawaii | 26.3% | 203,127 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/hawaii-medical-service-association--hi |
| AmeriHealth Caritas North Carolina, Inc. | North Carolina | 26.2% | 294,759 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/amerihealth-caritas-north-carolina-inc--nc |
| UnitedHealthcare of Oklahoma, Inc. | Oklahoma | 25.4% | 65,121 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-oklahoma-inc--ok |
| AvMed, Inc. | Florida | 24.7% | 181,070 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/avmed-inc--fl |
| UnitedHealthcare of Arizona, Inc. | Arizona | 24.5% | 740,183 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-arizona-inc--az |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City | Missouri | 24.5% | 26,133 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-kansas-city--mo |
| Summa Insurance Company, Inc. | Ohio | 24.5% | 68,759 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/summa-insurance-company-inc--oh |
| Common Ground Healthcare Cooperative | Wisconsin | 24.5% | 639,167 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/common-ground-healthcare-cooperative--wi |
| UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, Inc. | Michigan | 24.2% | 250,592 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-community-plan-inc--mi |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Louisiana | 24.1% | 382,768 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--la |
| UnitedHealthcare of Ohio, Inc. | Ohio | 23.9% | 185,791 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-ohio-inc--oh |
| Medica Health Plans | North Dakota | 23.8% | 31,275 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/medica-health-plans--nd |
| Molina Healthcare of Texas, Inc. | Texas | 23.8% | 391,061 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/molina-healthcare-of-texas-inc--tx |
| BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee | Tennessee | 23.5% | 1,719,613 | 13 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/bluecross-blueshield-of-tennessee--tn |
| Sendero Health Plans, Inc. | Texas | 22.5% | 336,574 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/sendero-health-plans-inc--tx |
| UnitedHealthcare of North Carolina, Inc | North Carolina | 22.4% | 363,243 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-north-carolina-inc--nc |
| Community First Insurance Plans | Texas | 22.3% | 52,198 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/community-first-insurance-plans--tx |
| Security Health Plan of Wisconsin, Inc. | Wisconsin | 22.3% | 287,953 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/security-health-plan-of-wisconsin-inc--wi |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Tennessee | 22.1% | 576,337 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--tn |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Kansas | 21.9% | 182,857 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--ks |
| UnitedHealthcare of Mississippi, Inc. | Mississippi | 21.7% | 93,567 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-mississippi-inc--ms |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of NC | North Carolina | 21.4% | 4,465,115 | 100 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-nc--nc |
| Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas | Texas | 21.1% | 13,945,257 | 107 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-texas--tx |
| UnitedHealthcare of Florida, Inc. | Florida | 21% | 703,125 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-florida-inc--fl |
| Community Health Choice Texas, Inc. | Texas | 21% | 8,668 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/community-health-choice-texas-inc--tx |
| McLaren Health Plan Community | Michigan | 20.9% | 23,730 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/mclaren-health-plan-community--mi |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Alabama | 20.8% | 1,120,917 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--al |
| HMO Louisiana, Inc. | Louisiana | 20.5% | 1,360,028 | 174 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/hmo-louisiana-inc--la |
| Medica Insurance Company | Missouri | 20.5% | 127,628 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/medica-insurance-company--mo |
| Blue Cross Blue Shield of Wyoming | Wyoming | 20.4% | 333,000 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-wyoming--wy |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Nebraska | 20.2% | 22,396 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--ne |
| CHRISTUS Health Plan Louisiana | Louisiana | 20.1% | 35,194 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/christus-health-plan-louisiana--la |
| Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield West Virginia | West Virginia | 20.1% | 707,610 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/highmark-blue-cross-blue-shield-west-virginia--wv |
| BridgeSpan Health Company | Utah | 20% | 1,182 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/bridgespan-health-company--ut |
| Community Health Choice, Inc. | Texas | 19.4% | 1,462,532 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/community-health-choice-inc--tx |
| Highmark BCBSD Inc. | Delaware | 19.3% | 385,536 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/highmark-bcbsd-inc--de |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City | Kansas | 19.2% | 9,939 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-kansas-city--ks |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Missouri | 19.2% | 220,146 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--mo |
| UnitedHealthcare of South Carolina, Inc. | South Carolina | 19.1% | 131,081 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-south-carolina-inc--sc |
| Medica Insurance Company | Nebraska | 18.9% | 180,971 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/medica-insurance-company--ne |
| University of Utah Health Insurance Plans | Utah | 18.9% | 171,878 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/university-of-utah-health-insurance-plans--ut |
| Oscar Buckeye State Insurance Corp. | Ohio | 18.8% | 266,043 | 103 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-buckeye-state-insurance-corp--oh |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Tennessee | 18.7% | 500,557 | 30 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--tn |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Missouri | 18.4% | 64,953 | 12 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--mo |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Michigan | 18.2% | 23,592 | 11 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--mi |
| Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma | Oklahoma | 18.2% | 1,517,965 | 16 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-oklahoma--ok |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of South Carolina | South Carolina | 18.2% | 2,323,759 | 246 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-south-carolina--sc |
| UnitedHealthcare of Texas, Inc. | Texas | 18.2% | 2,570,982 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-texas-inc--tx |
| Wellmark Health Plan of Iowa, Inc. | Iowa | 18% | 745,842 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/wellmark-health-plan-of-iowa-inc--ia |
| Louisiana Health Service & Indemnity Company | Louisiana | 18% | 186,882 | 37 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/louisiana-health-service-indemnity-company--la |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Kansas | 17.9% | 65,133 | 28 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--ks |
| Oscar Health Plan, Inc. | Arizona | 17.8% | 69,003 | 15 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-health-plan-inc--az |
| AmeriHealth Caritas Florida, Inc. | Florida | 17.8% | 233,629 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/amerihealth-caritas-florida-inc--fl |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Iowa | 17.5% | 122,005 | 37 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--ia |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Wyoming | 17.5% | 19,901 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--wy |
| UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company | Indiana | 17.3% | 8,176 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-insurance-company--in |
| SelectHealth, Inc. | Utah | 17.3% | 1,741,801 | 3,028 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/selecthealth-inc--ut |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Nebraska | 17.1% | 15,381 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--ne |
| Network Health Plan | Wisconsin | 17% | 117,572 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/network-health-plan--wi |
| Medica Community Health Plan | Wisconsin | 16.8% | 101,801 | 12 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/medica-community-health-plan--wi |
| Health First Commercial Plans, Inc. | Florida | 16.6% | 573,724 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/health-first-commercial-plans-inc--fl |
| HMO Partners, Inc. | Arkansas | 16.5% | 297,161 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/hmo-partners-inc--ar |
| InStil Health Insurance Company | South Carolina | 16.5% | 17,786 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/instil-health-insurance-company--sc |
| Health Options, Inc. | Florida | 16.3% | 6,445,991 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/health-options-inc--fl |
| UnitedHealthcare of Wisconsin, Inc. | Wisconsin | 16.3% | 179,349 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-of-wisconsin-inc--wi |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama | Alabama | 16.1% | 3,008,219 | 13 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-alabama--al |
| UnitedHealthcare Plan of the River Valley, Inc. | Iowa | 16% | 3,163 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/unitedhealthcare-plan-of-the-river-valley-inc--ia |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Oklahoma | 16% | 18,534 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--ok |
| USAble HMO, Inc. | Arkansas | 15.9% | 283,918 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/usable-hmo-inc--ar |
| CommunityCare HMO Inc. | Oklahoma | 15.4% | 55,848 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/communitycare-hmo-inc--ok |
| Wellmark of South Dakota | South Dakota | 15.4% | 59,024 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/wellmark-of-south-dakota--sd |
| Aspirus Health Plan, Inc. | Wisconsin | 15.4% | 57,728 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/aspirus-health-plan-inc--wi |
| Oscar Insurance Company | Texas | 15.3% | 829,696 | 51 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-company--tx |
| Moda Health Plan, Inc. | Alaska | 15.2% | 20,076 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/moda-health-plan-inc--ak |
| Meridian Health Plan of Michigan, Inc. | Michigan | 15.1% | 929,455 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/meridian-health-plan-of-michigan-inc--mi |
| USAble Mutual Insurance Company | Arkansas | 15% | 570,178 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/usable-mutual-insurance-company--ar |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Arizona, Inc. | Arizona | 14.6% | 116,772 | 229 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-arizona-inc--az |
| Boston Medical Center Health Plan, Inc. | New Hampshire | 14.5% | 3,681 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/boston-medical-center-health-plan-inc--nh |
| Oscar Insurance Corporation of Ohio | Ohio | 14.4% | 75,554 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-insurance-corporation-of-ohio--oh |
| Iowa Total Care, Inc. | Iowa | 14.2% | 44,021 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/iowa-total-care-inc--ia |
| Dean Health Plan | Wisconsin | 14.2% | 150,341 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/dean-health-plan--wi |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida | Florida | 13.8% | 3,199,676 | 11 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-florida--fl |
| Florida Health Care Plan, Inc. | Florida | 13.5% | 419,165 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/florida-health-care-plan-inc--fl |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Oklahoma | 13.5% | 458,772 | 18 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--ok |
| Regence BlueCross BlueShield of Utah | Utah | 13.5% | 52,771 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/regence-bluecross-blueshield-of-utah--ut |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska | Nebraska | 13.3% | 106,584 | 12 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-nebraska--ne |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Montana | Montana | 13.1% | 219,509 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-montana--mt |
| Oscar Health Plan of North Carolina, Inc | North Carolina | 12.8% | 25,387 | 21 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/oscar-health-plan-of-north-carolina-inc--nc |
| Antidote Health Plan of Ohio | Ohio | 12.6% | 5,966 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/antidote-health-plan-of-ohio--oh |
| Superior Health Plan | Texas | 12.5% | 1,556,425 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/superior-health-plan--tx |
| Ambetter Health of Louisiana, Inc. | Louisiana | 12.4% | 399,109 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/ambetter-health-of-louisiana-inc--la |
| Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan Mutual Insurance Company | Michigan | 12.2% | 248,492 | 17 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-michigan-mutual-insurance-company--mi |
| Ambetter of North Carolina Inc. | North Carolina | 12.2% | 708,961 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/ambetter-of-north-carolina-inc--nc |
| Montana Health Cooperative | Montana | 12.1% | 103,510 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/montana-health-cooperative--mt |
| Buckeye Community Health Plan | Ohio | 12% | 603,488 | 11 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/buckeye-community-health-plan--oh |
| Wellpoint Insurance Company | Texas | 11.9% | 113,708 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/wellpoint-insurance-company--tx |
| Coordinated Care Corporation Indiana | Indiana | 11.7% | 671,270 | 70 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/coordinated-care-corporation-indiana--in |
| Simply Healthcare Plans, Inc. | Florida | 11.5% | 18,893 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/simply-healthcare-plans-inc--fl |
| Absolute Total Care, Inc | South Carolina | 11.5% | 1,027,842 | 15 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/absolute-total-care-inc--sc |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Tennessee | 11.5% | 1,099,147 | 23 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--tn |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Kansas | 11.4% | 621,666 | 29 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--ks |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Alabama | 11.3% | 487,433 | 19 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--al |
| CHRISTUS Health Plan | Texas | 11.1% | 208,818 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/christus-health-plan--tx |
| MercyCare HMO, Inc. | Wisconsin | 11% | 20,778 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/mercycare-hmo-inc--wi |
| Quartz Health Benefit Plans Corporation | Wisconsin | 11% | 81,636 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/quartz-health-benefit-plans-corporation--wi |
| Health Net of Arizona, Inc. | Arizona | 10.9% | 518,619 | 50 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/health-net-of-arizona-inc--az |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Missouri | 10.9% | 981,732 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--mo |
| Ambetter of Magnolia Inc. | Mississippi | 10.7% | 1,048,108 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/ambetter-of-magnolia-inc--ms |
| Centene Venture Company Florida | Florida | 9.8% | 5,291,270 | 258 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/centene-venture-company-florida--fl |
| Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas, Inc. | Kansas | 9.8% | 89,937 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-and-blue-shield-of-kansas-inc--ks |
| Celtic Insurance Company | Texas | 9.8% | 2,698,996 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/celtic-insurance-company--tx |
| Antidote Health Plan of Arizona, Inc. | Arizona | 9.5% | 140 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/antidote-health-plan-of-arizona-inc--az |
| QCA Health Plan, Inc. | Arkansas | 8.8% | 286,478 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/qca-health-plan-inc--ar |
| Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin | Wisconsin | 8.8% | 16,891 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/group-health-cooperative-of-south-central-wisconsin--wi |
| Anthem Insurance Companies, Inc. | Indiana | 8.7% | 293,847 | 11 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/anthem-insurance-companies-inc--in |
| Community Insurance Company | Ohio | 7.9% | 303,706 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/community-insurance-company--oh |
| Priority Health | Michigan | 7.6% | 243,454 | 23 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/priority-health--mi |
| Healthy Alliance Life Insurance Company | Missouri | 7.3% | 171,959 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/healthy-alliance-life-insurance-company--mo |
| Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota | North Dakota | 7.1% | 54,706 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/blue-cross-blue-shield-of-north-dakota--nd |
| Compcare Health Services Insurance Corporation | Wisconsin | 7% | 202,277 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/compcare-health-services-insurance-corporation--wi |
| Matthew Thornton Health Plan, Inc. | New Hampshire | 6.7% | 123,552 | not reported | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/matthew-thornton-health-plan-inc--nh |
| HealthPartners Insurance Company | Wisconsin | 6.5% | 37,577 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/healthpartners-insurance-company--wi |
| Alliant Health Plans, Inc. | Tennessee | 6% | 973 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/alliant-health-plans-inc--tn |
| Avera Health Plans, Inc. | South Dakota | 3.5% | 17,773 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/avera-health-plans-inc--sd |
| Sanford Health Plan | North Dakota | 3% | 19,805 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/sanford-health-plan--nd |
| Sanford Health Plan | South Dakota | 2.5% | 18,341 | 0 | https://denialfacts.com/insurers/sanford-health-plan--sd |

## What this ranking means for one denial

What this ranking means for your own denial, and by when. Across the 152 insurer-state records ranked above, 83,907,852 in-network claims were denied and 4,918 independent external reviews were filed, one for every 17,061 denials, and 22.2% (1,092 of 4,918; interval 22.2-23.8% for counts CMS withheld; 32.6% without SelectHealth) of the reviews that were filed were overturned, the national rows in the plan-year 2027 release of the CMS Transparency in Coverage file, read November 4, 2026 ( data.healthcare.gov ). Whichever way that lands, nobody files the appeal for you, and the filing runs on a clock set by which plan you hold: an employer or Marketplace plan gives you at least 180 days from the denial notice to file the internal appeal ( 29 CFR 2560.503-1(h)(3)(i) , carried onto individual-market coverage by 45 CFR 147.136(b)(3)(i) ), while Medicare Advantage gives you 65 calendar days from the date of its notice ( CMS , 42 CFR 422.582(b) ) and Medicaid managed care 60 calendar days from the date on the notice ( 42 CFR 438.402(c)(2)(ii) ), both stages free, and the free calculator above turns the date on your letter into both of those windows, and the full free walkthrough is on how to appeal . The free steps are above; the $29 kit is the same clock with the letters pre-filled for whichever of these insurers denied you. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. This page is a list, and a list is a cold thing to land on when you are holding a letter. So: find your insurer, open its page, and read the last column before you read the first one, how many of its denials ever reached the independent stage. That is the number that tells you whether the people around you were using the rights you have. If your insurer is not here, the federal file simply does not report it, and your appeal rights are exactly the same. Write to us if you cannot find yourself in this table and we will point you at the right page. Axion Labs · hello@getaxionlabs.com

## Who wrote this, and when

By Axion Labs · August 19, 2026, updated November 4, 2026

## The two federal clocks

The clock your letter has to describe, in actual dates Whatever else is on the page, these two dates are the page. You have 180 days from the date on your denial notice to file the internal appeal, and then 4 months from the final internal denial to ask for an independent external review. If waiting would seriously jeopardize your health you can ask for both to be expedited, decided in about 72 hours . Both timeframes are federal, not your insurer's choice, 29 CFR 2560.503-1 ( PDF ) and 45 CFR 147.136 ( PDF ), in plain English at HealthCare.gov , and your own denial letter states the ones that govern your plan. The PDFs are the same sections on govinfo.gov, which serves them without a challenge page, so an automated reader can check these two dates as easily as you can.

## How rare the second appeal is

You are not alone, measured rather than said: 83,907,852 in-network claims were denied in a single plan year, and only 4,918 of them, one in 17,061, ever reached the independent review stage. Of the ones that did, 22.2% (1,092 of 4,918; interval 22.2-23.8% for counts CMS withheld; 32.6% without SelectHealth) were overturned.

## What is free here, and what the one paid thing costs

Denied a claim? Insurers upheld 165,863 of the 262,982 internal appeals counted in 2024, 63.1% ( KFF ). The win is at independent external review, and the only way to arrive there is to run the internal stage on time, in the right order, with the record intact. That sequence is what the Appeal Kit is. Get my Appeal Kit, $29 One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. Opens on screen the moment you pay. 14-day refund, no questions, one email to hello@getaxionlabs.com. Get my Appeal Kit, $29 Everything you need for your appeal: your two deadlines, the argument that fits your denial reason, the letters, a brief for your doctor on what the reviewer checks, and the external review request. One payment. No subscription. No cut of your claim. Opens on screen the moment you pay. 14-day refund, no questions, one email to hello@getaxionlabs.com.

## What we will not pretend

What we will not pretend. We cannot overturn your denial. Only your plan, or an independent reviewer, can do that. We cannot make your plan cover a service it genuinely excludes. We cannot guarantee external review applies to your denial. It covers medical judgment, experimental or investigational determinations, and rescission, a purely administrative denial may not qualify, and we say so on those pages rather than selling you past it. We have no customer testimonials and publish none. Our evidence is the federal dataset and the regulation cites, both of which you can check.

## Questions people ask alongside this page

Questions people ask These are the questions Google shows people asking alongside this page, in the words they are asked in. Each one gets one sentence, from the same sources as the rest of the page. What insurance company has the highest denial rate? The top row of this table holds it, and the claim volume printed beside it is there so a high rate on a small book is not read as the same finding as a high rate on a large one. What are the top 5 worst insurance companies? The first five rows of the ranked table on this site answer that on one measure only, the share of in-network claims denied, which is the measure CMS collects and not a judgement of the company. Which insurance companies approve the most claims? Approval is the other side of the same column: sort this table the other way and the lowest denial rates are the highest approval rates, against a national 15.7%. Which insurance company has the most customer complaints? Complaint counts are held by state insurance departments rather than by the CMS file this table is built from, so we do not rank them; each state page here prints that department's own consumer route. Which insurance company has the highest denial rate? The same first row, and it is an insurer-state record rather than a national brand, because that is the level at which the file reports. What percent of insurance claims are denied? 15.7% of in-network claims in the plan-year 2027 CMS Transparency in Coverage release, 83,907,852 of the claims insurers reported receiving. What is a good claim denial rate? There is no published standard to call good, so the only honest comparison is against the national 15.7% and against the other records in this table. Which health insurance has the lowest denial rate? The bottom of this ranked table holds it, and it is the same list read upwards rather than a separate ranking.

## Every page on this site

Home Start here Insurers By company States Denial reasons Use cases How to appeal Ranked by denial rate The external-review gap Write the letter, free Deadline calculator Self-funded plan? Prior authorization denied Medicare WISeR denial Denial code CO-50 Before you call a lawyer Attorney for a denied claim Your denial letter United Healthcare denying claims Time limits on a claim Appeal a Medicare denial About Editorial policy How we compare Privacy Terms For machines: llms.txt openapi.json changes.json the composed answer this page as markdown

## Which release these figures are

Which release these figures are Every number on this page is the plan-year 2027 Transparency in Coverage file, issued October 22, 2026, covering plan-year 2025 claims. This is the newest plan year CMS has published: there is no Transparency in Coverage file for a plan year after 2027. The dataset list is at data.healthcare.gov . A test in this site’s build fetches that list on every run and fails if CMS publishes a plan year we have not acknowledged here. Every earlier release, plan-year 2024, plan-year 2025, plan-year 2026, is kept alongside it so the record is visible rather than a single year’s snapshot; /about says what changed between them. From the plan-year 2024 release to the plan-year 2026 release, external reviews filed went from 2,336 to 5,881. Overturned reviews went from 32.8% in the plan-year 2026 release to 22.2% in plan-year 2027, or from 32.6% to 32.6% without SelectHealth. We do not compare filed or overturned counts across plan-years 2026 and 2027. Some issuers may have counted pre-service appeals in their 2026 cells.

## Where these numbers come from

Where these numbers come from Counts: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2027 release, PY2025 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain . Rights and timeframes: 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file) and 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies), explained at HealthCare.gov . Expedited review is decided in about 72 hours under both sections. Reading either regulation from a script rather than a browser: eCFR answers automated fetches with a challenge page, so the same two sections are mirrored as government PDFs at govinfo.gov (29 CFR 2560.503-1) and govinfo.gov (45 CFR 147.136) .

## Who publishes this

Denial Facts publishes federal data about health insurance claim denials. We are independent: not affiliated with, endorsed by, or acting for any insurer, government agency, or review organization. We are not a law firm, a medical provider, or an insurance producer, and nothing here is legal, medical, or insurance advice. Data: CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2027 release, PY2025 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain. Figures cover individual-market Qualified Health Plans on the federal Exchange and come from the plan-year 2027 release, issued October 22, 2026, covering plan-year 2025 claims. This is the newest plan year CMS has published: there is no Transparency in Coverage file for a plan year after 2027. See where the data comes from .

## Not advice

This page presents federal statistics and a general description of appeal rights created by federal law. It is not legal, medical, or insurance advice, and no outcome is guaranteed. Your denial letter and plan documents govern your specific case. Free help is available from your state's Consumer Assistance Program and from the federal Marketplace at HealthCare.gov.

## Sources

- CMS Transparency in Coverage Public Use File (PY2027 release, PY2025 claims), data.healthcare.gov — US Government public domain: https://data.healthcare.gov/
- 29 CFR 2560.503-1 (180 days, and your free right to the claim file): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29/section-2560.503-1
- 45 CFR 147.136 (4 months, and what qualifies): https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-45/section-147.136
- HealthCare.gov on external review: https://www.healthcare.gov/appeal-insurance-company-decision/external-review/

Cite: Axion Labs — Denial Facts, "Which insurance companies deny the most claims? 152 ranked", https://denialfacts.com/insurers (checked 2026-11-04). free to quote with the URL.
